So, I have always admired the statement, “Better to keep one’s mouth shut and be thought stupid, than to speak and confirm it. But I’m afraid this also leads to not speaking when one should. As Martin Luther King once said, “The time is always right to do the right thing.”

And sometimes that means speaking.

I’m a child of an alcoholic and there was a minor amount of physical abuse and a larger amount of emotional abuse in my childhood. Unfortunately, one of the most common results of these kind of experiences is to replicate the same behaviors. It seems that as nations these kinds of behaviors are also replicated and often for the worst of reasons.

I’m not going to say anything terribly profound today, but I would like to repeat this, a quote from Jo Walton that graces the front page of the Making Light blog:

“Peace means something different from ‘not fighting’. Those aren’t peace advocates, they’re ‘stop fighting’ advocates. Peace is an active and complex thing and sometimes fighting is part of what it takes to get it.”

So, peace activism. Active. Not passive. And not simple.

